About Us

History of the Urban Water and Sewerage Sub-Sector:
The growth of the Urban Water Sub-sector can be summarized as follows: In the 60's, the water systems were supply driven with plans agreed upon with the municipal councils.

At this time, the investment funds were available and there was relative efficiency with an optimum population to serve.

The 70's and early 80's were characterized by rundown water and sewerage systems with very little maintenance. From the mid 80's, there was a drive towards the rehabilitation of the water supply and sewerage systems.

The 90's have been characterized by rehabilitation and expansion of both water and sewerage systems. In the later part of the 90's, there was a drive towards efficiency and performance enhancement of the sector

NWSC is a utility parastatal 100% owned by The Government of Uganda. It was established in 1972 under decree No: 34.

The mandate of the Corporation as defined in the National Water & Sewerage Corporation Statute of 1995, Section 5 (1), is to operate and provide water and sewerage services in areas entrusted to it, on a sound, commercial and viable basis. The NWSC operations were initially in three towns of Kampala, Jinja, and Entebbe.

In 1988, four additional towns of Mbale, Tororo, Masaka, and Mbarara were handed over to NWSC by the then Water Development Department, WDD, now known as the Directorate of Water Development (DWD). This was after completion of the IDA financed rehabilitation program. In November 1995, the Corporation was re-established under the NWSC Statute. In 1997, the towns of Kasese and Fort Portal were handed over to NWSC following a successful rehabilitation financed by the German government.

In April 1999, the town of Kabale was handed over to the NWSC as a prerequisite to the rehabilitation and expansion work which was due to be carried out with funding from the German government.

The total number of towns currently served by the NWSC are forty towns viz;towns in 1972 to 34 urban centers as of January 2014,viz: Kampala- (Nansana), Mukono, Jinja, Lugazi, Entebbe-(Kajjansi), Tororo, Malaba, Iganga Mbale, Masaka, Mbarara, Gulu, Lira, Fort-Portal, Kasese, Kabale, Bushenyi/Ishaka, Soroti , Arua, Hoima , Masindi, Mubende, Kaberamaido, Mityana, Kisoro, Kitgum, Nebbi, Pader, Apach, Paidha, Aduku, Wobulenzi, Luwero, and Wakiso. It is envisaged, by June 2014, at least 6more towns (Rukunjiri, Kabwohe, Itengero, Kanungu, Kalisizo and Kaliro). These represent the larger Urban Centres within Uganda.