Serving Since 1972

NWSC was formed by Decree No. 34 in 1972 to serve the urban areas of Kampala, Entebbe, and Jinja. In 1995, NWSC was re-organized under the NWSC Statute. The company was given more authority and autonomy and the mandate to operate and provide water and sewerage services in areas entrusted to it, on a sound commercial and viable basis. As of October 2016, the following cities and towns receive services from NWSC​

The company, as of July 2018, was in the final stages of construction of its new headquarters building at 3 Nakasero Road, on Nakasero Hill, opposite Rwenzori House. The new headquarters building was commissioned by Ruhakana Rugunda, the Prime Minister of Uganda, in July 2018

The National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC) is a public utility company 100% owned by the Government of Uganda. The Corporation was established in 1972 under Decree No: 34. At its inception in 1972, the Corporation operated in three (3) major towns of Kampala, Jinja and Entebbe. These laws were revised in 1995 by the NWSC Statute and later on the statute was incorporated in the Laws of Uganda as CAP 317 (Laws of Uganda 2000). The primary aim of this was to revise the objectives, powers and structure of NWSC to enable the corporation operate and provide water & sewerage services in areas entrusted to it on a sound commercial and viable basis


To be the leading customer Service Oriented utility in the world.


To sustainably and equitably provide cost effective quality water and sewerage services to the delight of all stakeholders while conserving the environment.


  • Professionalism
  • Reliability
  • Integrity
  • Innovation
  • Team Work
  • Excellence
  • Result Oriented



Operating in 5 towns

Serving 500 people

Coverage 18%

Network 300km

Connections 20,000


Operating in 258 towns

Serving 15,000,000 people

Coverage 85%

Network 20,000km

Connections 700,000